Sprint Kayak




Nominations for the 2023/24 Program have now closed

The HAS Sprint Kayak Program exists to provide a unique opportunity for local athletes to gain further individual skill and personal development that will assist them in gaining higher representative selection in the sport of Kayak. Applicants should be looking to progress to State and National selection. The HAS Sprint Kayak program will run weekly (with session frequency dependent on assessment of the level of athlete selected).


Head Coach

Scott Cunningham


Program Focus 

The program will cater for athletes U14 - U24 years 


The Pathway

The aim of the HAS Sprint Kayak program is to provide identified athletes progression into higher representation with Paddle NSW, NSWIS and Paddle Australia.


Athlete Benefits

HAS Kayak athletes will have access to the following benefits:

  • HAS Merchandise pack

  • Weekly Squad training sessions – 30 Weeks (frequency of sessions per week are determined by level of athlete)

  • Weekly Strength & Conditioning training and/or programming

  • Education Sessions on topics such as Nutrition, Sports Psychology, Drugs in Sport and Youth Leadership

  • A musculoskeletal screening and education session


Selection Process

A trial will be held to select the Sprint Kayak Squad. Athlete ability will be assessed and successful athletes will be offered a training package according to their current and potential skill levels. The HAS decision/s regarding athlete selection is based on objective and subjective measures and the HAS hold final responsibility for the selection of athletes.

A trial will be held on Saturday 19th August, 2pm at Cockle Creek.



  • Athletes must be born in 1999– 2009 (inclusive)
  • Currently reside within Hunter Council LGA
  • Be committed to progressing to higher representation within the sport of Kayak
  • Current or willing to become a member of a Kayak Club



A program levy will apply to selected athletes.


2023/24 Squad

Ashby Allen

Ashleigh Pegrum

Bailey Connolly

Brodie Macadam

Bronte Kippax

Ella Pegrum

Elliott Graham

Miley Cox

William Watts