Nominations Open for 2020 Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame

28th April 2020
By Bianca Smith
The 28th annual Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame is currently open for nominations for the 2020 intake, with an induction ceremony to be held at a future date.


The 28th annual Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame is currently open for nominations for the 2020 intake, with an induction ceremony to be held at a future date.  


The Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame, coordinated by the Hunter Academy of Sport, is made up of over 350 top athletes who have represented Australia or competed in an international tournament and were born and/or played in the Hunter region at the junior or senior level.  


Last year seven athletes were recognized and received the elite honour of being inducted into the Hall of Fame. Those inducted were:  


Suzy Batkovic - Basketball 

Belinda Barnes - Softball 

Greg Primmer - Motorcycling 

Michael Fitzgerald - Rugby Union 

Ryan Rowland-Smith - Baseball 

Matthew Helm - Diving 

Ann-Maree Putney - Ten Pin Bowling 


In 2019 the Hall of Fame committee made the decision to include Official’s in the induction, where we saw Rugby Union Referee Alexander (Sandy) MacNeill join the prestigious list of sportsmen/women.  


The 2020 intake of athletes will join the likes of well-known Novocastrian’s Jenni Screen, Ray Baartz, Mark Richards and Doug Walters to name a few.  


Brett O’Farrell, Chief Executive Officer of the Hunter Academy said of the event, “The Hunter Academy are very excited to yet again host the Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame.  It is a great chance to recognize and celebrate the careers of athletes in the Hunter Region with their family and friends, and to honor the impact that sport has on our region.” 


For more information on how to nominate, please visit  


Nominations will close Monday, 15th June. 


<< Previous | Next >>