This event has ended!
Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame
Aug 5

Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame

Date & Time
5 August 2021 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
(UTC+10:00) Australia/Sydney

The 29th annual Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame is currently open for nominations for the 2021 intake, with an induction ceremony to be held at Belmont Golf Club on August 5th.   


The Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame, coordinated by the Hunter Academy of Sport, is made up of over 400 top athletes who have represented Australia or competed in an international tournament and were born and/or played in the Hunter region at the junior or senior level.  


Last year six athletes were recognized and received the elite honour of being inducted into the Hall of Fame. Unfortunately, due to COVID-19 at the time of event, no formal occasion was held and these inductee’s will be invited to the 2021 function. Those inducted were:  

  • Judith Tynan - Touch Football
  • Roy Urpeth - Motorcar Racing
  • Karyne Di Marco (nee Perkins) - Track & Field, Hammer Throw
  • Robert Schroder* - Sailing
  • Paul Geale - Speedway Racing
  • Amanda Bradley - Ten Pin Bowling


In 2019 the Hall of Fame committee made the decision to include Official’s in the induction, where we saw Rugby Union Referee Alexander (Sandy) MacNeill join the prestigious list of sportsmen/women.  


The 2021 intake of athletes will join the likes of well-known Novocastrian’s Jenni Screen, Ray Baartz, Mark Richards and Danny Buderus, to name a few.  


Brett O’Farrell, Chief Executive Officer of the Hunter Academy said of the event, “HAS are very excited to yet again host the Hunter Region Sporting Hall of Fame.  It is a great chance to recognize and celebrate the careers of athletes in the Hunter Region with their family and friends, and to honor the impact that sport has on our region.” 


For more information on how to nominate, please visit  Nominations will close Friday, 25th June. 

Event Location
Belmont Golf Club
Marks Point NSW

Thursday 5th Aug 2021
Formal Awards Celebration Marks Point
Athletes selected from the HAS 'Awards Day' as Best & Fairest award recipients have been invited to attend a formal award presentation, in conjunction with the Hall of Fame event, where HAS will announce their perpetual award winners, including 2021 Athlete of the Year. ...
Monday 18th Oct 2021
Annual General Meeting
Due to COVID-19, this meeting will be held via ZOOM - please RSVP to the company secretary Brett O'Farrell on to access the meeting invitation. ...