This program is supported by: 


Nominations for the 2021/22 Hockey Program will open in early August- Stay tuned 


Head coach: Ben Brown 

Manager: Nikki Simpson


The Hunter Academy of Sport (HAS) hockey program plays a vital role in the Hockey NSW pathway by identifying, monitoring and developing the skills of young hockey players.


The HAS hockey program forms an underpinning program for the Hockey NSW Athlete Acceleration Program (AAP) that can see athletes progress through the athlete pathway and be given the support they need to progress to the next level. Members of the squad will be exposed to expert coaching services, and sport specific education in areas such as, physiotherapy and nutrition.

Athlete Eligibility Criteria

  • 16-18 year olds in 2021 (born in 2005, 2004 or 2003)
  • Not a scholarship holder in the Hockey NSW Athlete Acceleration Program (AAP) for the same term. See note below regarding AAP & HAS selections. Note: Athletes are strongly encouraged to nominate for the Hunter Academy (HAS) Program in the first instance, even if applying for AAP as the HAS selections will occur prior to AAP selections.
  • Selected based on the Academy’s defined local government boundaries (HAS accepts athletes outside of our LGAs if your Academy is not offering a program)
  • Must reside and/or go to school or play, in these areas to qualify for selection. With residential being the primary selection criteria.
  • All athletes are to be registered Hockey NSW athletes with an Association in NSW being the primary Association as at July 01
  • Athletes can only be scholarship holders in one Academy and the scholarships are based on an annual basis.


Hockey NSW Pathway



Athlete Benefits

The following benefits will apply to those selected in the hockey program:

  • Over 30 hours of Skill Development
  • Minimum 6 hours of Athlete Education Including Nutrition and Sport Psychology
  • Fitness Testing and Strength and Conditioning Program 
  • Targeted Goal Keeper Coaching
  • Your Local Club Academy Games Entry
  • Planet Fitness Gym Membership
  • Inter-Academy Training Days/Camps


A program and uniform levy will be applicable to selected athletes


2020/21 Girls Hockey Squad

Ellie Baldwin
Hunter Baldwin
Lily Forbes
Olivia Hart
Sylvia Knott
Sophie  Lawrence
Indi Loretan
Alissa McLeod
Leah Ollerton
Chloe Ollerton
Gemma O'Rourke
Kamryn  Posner 
Tiarna Tull


2020/21 Boys Hockey Squad

Elijah Alchin
Dusty Cameron
Griffin Coleman
Samuel Dimmock
Ryan  Doherty
Jonathan Gremm
Lachlan Harry
Rohan Henderson
Damon Herington
Henry Hunt
Liam Jackson
William Jeayes
Kai Kabayama
Kobe Le Grange
Thomas Magann
Joseph  Mursa
Riley New
Jackson  Newcombe
Sean O'Rourke
Dane Simpson 
Conor Smith
Cooper Thompson
Flynn Thompson






Hockey Website 2019