Aussie Rules Development

This program is proudly supported by:

         AFL Hunter Central Coast Logo


The AFL program plays a vital role in the AFL NSW/ACT pathway by identifying, monitoring and developing the skills of young Australian Football players in the Hunter Region. Members of the squad will be exposed to technical skill development, athlete education, sports science and fitness elements, as well as provide a talent identification platform for future talent programs.

Athlete Benefits

The following benefits will apply to those selected in the AFL program:

  • Monthly Training Sessions to Further Develop Skills - due to the current COVID-19 landscape, the final schedule for the AFL Development program is still to be confirmed. Sessions will be planned for Sundays approximately once a month from October 2020 - April 2021. These sessions are subject to change.
  • Education in Topics such as: Physiotherapy, Strength & Conditioning, Sports Psychology & Nutrition
  • Inter-Academy Sessions with Central Coast Academy of Sport
  • Planet Fitness Gym Membership
  • Academy Games Participation (TBC)


To be eligible to apply for a position within the AFL program, athletes must be:

  • Males & Females 10-11 years of age in 2020 (i.e born in 2009 & 2010) - NB: there will be both a Male and Female squad selected
  • Reside within the Hunter Region;
  • Attend school within the Hunter Region;
  • Registered with a local AFL club/association


A program levy and uniform levy will be applicable to selected athletes. 

2020/21 Hunter Academy of Sport Boys Aussie Rules Development Squad

Alfie Bonar
Boaz Bonar
Nash Cameron
Lincoln  Catchpole
Hunter Chappell
Luke Dinning
Tyler Downey
Jakx Drewe
Ty Cooper Ennis
Alexander Farrell
Angus Filipcevic
Chase Firman
Gabe Flynn
Samuel Gallagher
Harrison kane
Thomas Lynch
Jasper Mara 
Ted Mawson
Noah McCallum
Elliot Mole
Tom Scanlon
Cooper Smith
Flynn  Soorley
Theodore Spak
Elliott Taylor
Owen Trickey
Harry Van Woerkom
Eli  Wasley
Tyson  Williams 



2020/21 Hunter Academy of Sport Girls Aussie Rules Development Squad

Makaylie Daymond
Shiloh Flynn
Gabriella Ihle
Adele O'Rourke
Sophie Ross
Olivia Sullivan
Holly Winter